USWNT star Alex Morgan has blasted the refereeing in San Diego Wave’s latest fixture after being denied a penalty for a “completely reckless” tackle.
Article continues below
Article continues below
Article continues below
Forward caught by a robust challengeSpot-kick shouts waved awayBelieves she is fortunate to avoid injuryWHAT HAPPENED?
The two-time World Cup winner was in NWSL action against KC Current on Saturday. She suffered a 2-1 defeat in that contest, but believes that she was denied an opportunity to influence the final outcome from the penalty spot.
AdvertisementGettyTHE BIGGER PICTURE
Morgan was caught by a full-blooded challenge inside the penalty area at one stage, knocking her off her feet and sending her sprawling face-first onto the turf. Shouts for a spot-kick were waved away, much to the disgust of the United States international who believes she is fortunate to still be walking after a perceived dangerous challenge she felt could have inflicted serious damage.
WHAT THEY SAID
Morgan has posted on social media alongside a video of the tackle in question: “In what world is this not a penalty and red card, or even foul? Completely reckless and the leg going in for the tackle doesn't even get a ball when I cut her? Just glad I saw her coming and didn't plant on that leg or I'd 100% not be walking today.”
WHAT HAPPENS NEXT?
Morgan, who suffered World Cup heartache with the USWNT earlier this summer as they bowed out of that competition in the round of 16, has scored five goals in 15 appearances for the San Diego Wave this season and is up to 121 for her country through 211 caps.